This site is in read only mode. Please continue to browse, but replying, likes, and other actions are disabled for now.

⚠️ We've moved!

Hi there!

To reduce project dependency on 3rd party paid services the StackStorm TSC has decided to move the Q/A from this forum to Github Discussions. This will make user experience better integrated with the native Github flow, as well as the questions closer to the community where they can provide answers.

Use 🔗 Github Discussions to ask your questions.

Email Attachments

Hello,

I’m new to StackForm and currently in the “kicking the tires” phase. My primary use case is from a Security Operations perspective and using StackStorm to monitor a phishing inbox, pull down the attachment (.msg file), and extra fields within it to perform analysis.

I was wondering if anyone else is using StackStorm in a similar setup and if the email pack could truly pull down and extract a .msg file as well as any other attachments within the .msg file.

1. Bob gets a phishing email and reports it to [email protected].
  2. [email protected] receives an email in the Inbox from Bob with a .msg attachment.
  3. StackStorm opens up the .msg file and sees that there is an attachment (.pdf) as well as some URLs in the body of the message.
  4. StackStorm pulls down the URLs and runs some Python scripts that performs URL looksups and security intelligence.
  5. StackStorm pulls the SHA256 hash of the attachment and performs similar hash lookups.
  6. StackStorm pulls the PDF file and uploads it to a sandbox for additional analysis.
  7. Depending on the outcome of the above actions, a ticket is opened up and/or an email sent to the reporter.

The easiest way to find out if StackStorm can do it is to try it and find out.

That all looks possible with the email pack, and another integration pack for wherever you want to open a ticket (eg: the Jira pack for Jira issues, etc.).

Hi Eric,
I’m looking to use StackStorm in the exact same way.