This site is in read only mode. Please continue to browse, but replying, likes, and other actions are disabled for now.

⚠️ We've moved!

Hi there!

To reduce project dependency on 3rd party paid services the StackStorm TSC has decided to move the Q/A from this forum to Github Discussions. This will make user experience better integrated with the native Github flow, as well as the questions closer to the community where they can provide answers.

Use 🔗 Github Discussions to ask your questions.

How to retrieve variable in second task from first task using bash script?

Hi there, I am new to stackstorm. I need help to resolve the problem, I am having.

I am working on one workflow that will get variable information from first task and use that variable in second task using bash script. I see that is possible using python, but I would prefer to do with bash. Here is the workflow.

input:
  - value1
  - value2
  - value3

output:
  - value2: <% ctx().value2 %>
  - value3: <% ctx().value3 %>

tasks:
  task1:
    action: jobname.get_info value1=<% ctx(value1) %>
    next:
      - when: <% succeeded() %>
        publish:
          - stdout: <% result().stdout %>
          - stderr: <% result().stderr %>
          - value2: <% ctx("value2") %>, <% result().result %>
          - value3: <% ctx("value3") %>, <% result().result %>
      - do: task2
      - when: <% failed() %>
        publish: stderr=<% result().stderr %>
        do: fail

task2:
    action: job.name2 value2=<% ctx(value2) %>
    next:
        publish:
      - do: task3

I see that the first job gets succeeded without any error, but the second job uses value2 in the execution, so it won’t move forward in execution and errors out.

{
  "output": null,
  "errors": [
    {
      "message": "YaqlEvaluationException: Unable to resolve key 'result' in expression '<% result().result %>' from context.",
      "task_transition_id": "noop__t0",
      "type": "error",
      "route": 0,
      "task_id": "task1"
    },